FairVote Minnesota celebrates ten years

FairVote Minnesotas 10th Anniversary Celebration on May 8th was a huge success. Over 160 supporters of better democracy attended the sold-out event. It was a truly exhilarating night for a growing organization and was captured in pictures by Ken Friberg of Rat Race Studios (

Click here to catch a glimpse of the evening.

The program included rousing remarks by public leaders Peter Hutchinson, Don Fraser, George Latimer and Jay Benanav. Tony Solgard received the inaugural Solgard Award for his pioneering work in building FairVote Minnesota as a leader in creating a better democracy in our state. Keynote speaker Secretary of State, Mark Ritchie, inspired us all with his vision for a positive and powerful future in Minnesota where no vote is accused of being wasted!

Thanks to all of you who attended and to those who couldnt attend and provided a donation to support our work.

And a special thanks to the individuals and organizations that sponsored a table at the event: Sandra Sandell and Clayton Geise, Bruce and Linda Kennedy, Jodi Williams, Tyrone Bujold, Sierra Club, Citizens for Election Integrity, Minneapolis Green Party, Saint Paul Green Party and DFL Progressive Caucus.

We have a lot to celebrate! The recent growth in public awareness of our issues is astounding and I believe speaks to our future as well as our past 10 years in educating about and advocating for more democratic voting methods like Instant Runoff Voting.

Thank you all for your efforts and support to help build a better democracy.

Jim Cousins

Chair, FairVote Minnesota





Become a Volunteer


Contribute and help us

Build a better democracy

Join the Movement

Join the Movement